Game of Thrones DIY

Easter is just around the corner and so is the Game of Thrones Season 3 Premiere! This isn’t common knowledge for me but my bf and his roommates are on a marathon rampage going through the past two seasons and many many bottles of wine. Since the two land on the same day I figured why not make him a themed Easter basket? Then to my surprise allwomenstalk.com posted a blog about 7 Game of Thrones DIY’s! How perfect! For those of you who aren’t familiar w/ All Women Stalk, it’s a website consisting of many bloggers posting content about love, beauty, fashion, etc. So you can imagine how stoked I was to see a post like this in perfect timing!

On the website they featured dragon eggs made from hard boiled eggs and flat head silver thumb tacks that are cut and hot glued to the egg. The tutorial instructed to cut off the tacks on the thumbtacks and hot glue to the egg. Ain’t nobody got time for that! So I snagged some seasonal styrofoam eggs and push pinned the tacks into the styrofoam. This way I found to be so easy and quick. After the first one was started I found I would need a little more than a full pack per 1 egg. Therefore I used 5 packs of thumb tacks for 4 eggs. Here are the directions:

Materials:
-1 pack of 4 styrofoam eggs
-5 packs of Art Minds Thumb Tacks
(Materials can be found at your local Michael’s craft store)

20130324-124711.jpg

Don’t forget your coupon! Do not EVER purchase anything from Michael’s without a coupon. There is always a coupon! Here is the link:

http://m.weeklyad.michaels.com/?coupons=1#coupon

Instructions:

Step 1: Start with one thumbtack on the point of the egg.

Step 2: Overlay tacks slightly to give a scalloped effect and to secure tacks from falling out.

Step 3: Pin all the way around the egg, gradually working in a downward spiral.

20130324-131153.jpg20130324-131205.jpg

20130324-131212.jpg20130324-135337.jpg

I have to say that is one sick egg! Voila! One Game of Thrones Dragon egg! I hope this has enough resemblance to the eggs in the show that he will know what it is without having to ask. I’ve seen 3 episodes so far but have to say I had been asleep for a good 30 min for each one so I really would love the opinion of a GOT fan before I give y bf the basket.

Also, if you got a chance to look at the post by All Women Stalk, I am working on the popcorn boxes as well..but any other DIY Game of Thrones projects are eagerly welcomed! Do you have any suggestions that I can add to my basket? Let me know how your eggs turned out!

20130324-135718.jpg

Leave a Reply

